Champions crowned at 2022 Mitchell Tennis Classic – Mitchell Republic

Champions crowned at 2022 Mitchell Tennis Classic – Mitchell Republic

Champions crowned at 2022 Mitchell Tennis Classic – Mitchell Republic

MITCHELL — Tennis talents from across the state descended on the Hitchcock Park tennis courts for three days of tournament play across 13 divisions of play at the 2022 Mitchell Tennis Classic.

Held June 17-19, the event featured local athletes as well as those from as far away as Rapid City, who competed in eight singles and five doubles divisions (including mixed doubles), as Mitchell was represented in six of the championship matches on the weekend.

In doubles play, Amber Moller and Delaney Degen took second in the 18-and-under girls bracket, as Moller also teamed up with Jager Juracek to take second in the 18U mixed doubles competition.

Katie Morgan paired with Sioux Falls’ Anna Westenberg to finish second among the 14U girls teams, while a round-robin format was used to determine the top 14U boys duo since there were only three registered teams. At least one Mitchell player was on each of the three doubles teams, as Cooper Star took first with Sioux Falls’ Simeon Seruyange, while Dylan and Kaden Putnam finished second and Clay Bathke finished third with Yankton’s Ivan Krajewski.

In singles, Luke Jerke finished as the runner-up in the 18U boys division, falling to Yankton’s Miles Krajewski in a rematch of the Class A Flight 6 state championship match, which Jerke won to capture a second-straight state title. Cooper Star also finished second in the 12U singles bracket, dropping the final match to Seruyange, his partner for the doubles competition.

Mitchell also had four consolation winners: Josh Grosdidier and Atlanta Stahle (18U mixed doubles), Jordyn Wilson and Greyce Northrup (14U girls singles), Delaney Degen (16U girls singles) and Harbor Blindauer (14U girls singles).

Four Mitchell Tennis Classic winners from 2021 returned in 2022 and claimed at least one more event title.

After claiming three separate titles — girls singles, girls doubles and mixed doubles (all 18U) — at last year’s event, Yankton’s Nora Krajewski successfully defended her singles crown.

Sioux Falls’ Mckenzie Vickery, the 14U girls singles and doubles title winner in 2021, teamed up with fellow returning champion Maverik Ragon, also of Sioux Falls, to win the 2022 18U mixed doubles title. Vickery also finished second in 16U girls singles.

Ragon made up half of the 14U boys doubles championship team from 2021 with Yankton’s Harrison Krajewski, who also claimed a 2022 title, combining with Zac Briggs, also of Yankton, to win the 18U boys doubles bracket. Krajewski nearly took home a singles title, as well, but was bested by Briggs in the 16U final.


Mitchell’s Kaden Putnam stretches to hit an overhead serve during a boys 14-and-under doubles match at the Mitchell Tennis Classic on Saturday, June 18, 2022, at Hitchcock Park.

Landon Dierks / Mitchell Republic

A summary of all championship matches can be found below:

Mitchell Tennis Classic 2022
Hitchcock Park, Mitchell

Girls singles
18U: Nora Krajewski (Yankton) def. Alastrina Scott (Rapid City), 6-2, 6-4.
16U: Peyton Ogle (Rapid City) def. Mckenzie Vickery (Sioux Falls), 2-6, 6-1, 10-5.
14U: Arabella Scott (Rapid City) def. Madison Marsh (Rapid City), 6-7, 6-4, 10-4.
12U: Ella Potvin (Rapid City) def. Bella Nelson (Rapid City), 6-2, 6-4.

Girls doubles
18U: Peyton Ogle / Alastrina Scott (Rapid City) def. Amber Moller / Delaney Degen (Mitchell), 8-3.
14U: Madison Marsh / Arabella Scott (Rapid City) def. Katie Morgan (Mitchell) / Anna Westenberg (Sioux Falls), 8-3.

Boys singles
18U: Miles Krajewski (Yankton) def. Luke Jerke (Mitchell), 7-5, 6-3.
16U: Zac Briggs (Yankton) def. Harrison Krajewski (Yankton), 6-4, 3-6, 10-7.
14U: Connor Husser (Sioux Falls) def. Braden Nelson (Rapid City), 6-1, 6-4.
12U: Simeon Seruyange (Sioux Falls) def. Cooper Star (Mitchell), 6-4, 6-2.

Boys doubles
18U: Harrison Krajewski / Zac Briggs (Yankton) def. Connor Husser / Jacob Husser (Sioux Falls), 8-5.
14U (round-robin, first-place): Cooper Star (Mitchell) / Simeon Seruyange (Sioux Falls)

Mixed doubles
18U: Mckenzie Vickery / Maverik Ragon (Sioux Falls) def. Amber Moller / Jager Juracek (Mitchell), 8-2.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.