Auto racing: Superior preps for highest-paying event in speedway history – Duluth News Tribune

SUPERIOR, Wis. — Gondik Law Speedway will host the largest-paying racing event in the Superior track’s history with the XR Super Series Superior Showcase Monday and Tuesday, Aug. 8 and 9.

The Showcase will have a $20,000-to-win XR Super Late Model feature each night. It will pay $2,000 just to start either final — $2,000 for coming in last. Second each night will pay $10,000.

It’s a complete show each night, with Wissota Modifieds and Super Stocks part of Monday’s race program and Wissota Midwest Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Hornets part of Tuesday’s race program.

It’s still early but the weather forecast looks optimal, with sunny skies and a high of 75 degrees Monday and 82 degrees Tuesday.

The total purse for the two-day show is more than $200,000, easily the largest in the history of the track.

Daily tickets are $40 for adults, $20 for seniors 60 and over and veterans, and $10 for kids 12 and under; two-day tickets are $75, $35 and $15, respectively.

Budisalovich bolts to victory Tuesday in Superior

Veteran Minneapolis dirt-track driver Travis Budisalovich started on the pole and knew what to do with it as he cruised to victory in the 20-lap Late Model feature on the first night of Fair Races Tuesday, Aug. 2, that Gondik Law Speedway.

Darrell Nelson of Hermantown finished second while Mike Prochnow of Menomonie, Wisconsin, was third.

It was a great night for Nelson, a two-class stalwart who swept the Modifieds, winning the feature and his heat, as did DeJay Jarecki of Ashland in Hornets.

Tyler Kachinske took top honors in Pure Stocks, starting on the pole and holding off fellow Duluth driver Cory Jorgensen for the victory.

Tuesday’s Feature Results

1. Travis Budisalovich, 2. Darrell Nelson, 3. Mike Prochnow, 4. Deven VanHouse, 5. Dave Flynn, 6. Jayme Lautigar, 7. Mike Bellefeuille, 8. Tim McMann, 9. Ronnie Malecki, 10. Robbie Cooper, 11. Tim Lillo. DNF: Eric Lillo, Trevor Wilson. DNS: Jody Bellefeuille.

1. Darrell Nelson, 2. Jody Bellefeuille , 3. Dan Kingsley, 4. Kelly Checkalski, 5. Al Uotinen, 6. Rick Rivord, 7. Jeffrey Lien Jr., 8. Hunter Anderson, 9. Mike Klippenstein, 10. Brandon Copp. DNF: Todd Gehl, Donnie Lofdahl, Tyler Luger, Jack Rivord.

1. Tyler Kachinske, 2. Cory Jorgensen, 3. Dylan Shelton, 4. Aaron Bernick, 5. Nate Rose, 6. Jessie Limberios, 7. Anthony Woodhull, 8. Joe Pajtash. DNF: Tim Carlson, Tom Treviranus.

1. DeJay Jarecki, 2. AJ House, 3. Justin Barsness, 4. Tyler Schramm, 5. Joshua Kough, 6. Kristy Marken, 7. Ken Hapy, 8. Noah Rose, 9. Patrick Passeri, 10. Keegan Kough. DNF: Carter Matthews.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.