Catamount Football Preseason – Position Preview: Linebackers


Cullowhee, NC – Western Carolina football continued its 2022 preseason practice on Friday morning with its second helmet-only practice session as part of the acclimation period. The squad worked out for just over two hours utilizing 26 periods on a sun-soaked summer morning.

Friday also marked the debut of the 2022 Catamount Football Position Previews. Each video segment will include highlights of the featured position with an interview with the WCU position coach. Up first in the position previews are the defensive linebackers.

Practice continues on Saturday morning with the first session in uppers – or helmets and shoulder pads – on the turf at EJ Whitmire Stadium / Bob Waters Field.

Both season and single-game tickets, as well as game day parking for Western Carolina’s 2022 home schedule, are on sale now through the WCU Athletics Ticket Office on the first floor of the Ramsey Center, by phone at (828) 227-2401, and online at www.CatamountSports.com/BuyTickets.

Gallery: (8-5-2022) Catamount Football Preseason Camp: Day 2

2022 Catamount Football – Preseason Practice Schedule:
Sat., Aug. 6 – Practice #3 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (uppers)
Sun., Aug. 7 – No Practice (Off Day)
Mon., Aug. 8 – Practice #4 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (uppers)
Tues., Aug. 9 – Practice #5 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (uppers)
Wed., Aug. 10 – Practice #6 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (full pads)
Thu., Aug. 11 – No Practice (Off Day)
Fri., Aug. 12 – Practice #7 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (helmet’s)
Sat., Aug. 13 – Scrimmage #1 (Practice #7) – 9:00 am – 11:30 am (full pads)
Sun., Aug. 14 – No Practice (Team Photo Day)
Mon., Aug. 15 – Practice #9 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (uppers)
Tues., Aug. 16 – Practice #10 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (full pads)
Wed., Aug. 17 – Practice #11 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (full pads)
Thu., Aug. 18 – No Practice (Off Day)
Fri., Aug. 19 – Practice #12 – 8:30 am – 11:00 am (helmet’s)
Sat., Aug. 20 – Scrimmage #2 (Practice #13) – Noon – 2:00 pm (full pads)
Sun., Aug. 21 – No Practice (Off Day)
Mon., Aug. 22 – First Day of Fall Classes at WCU

Keep track of everything related to Catamount football and WCU Athletics through its social media outlets on Facebook (FB.com/CatamountSports, FB.com/WesternCarolinaFootball), Twitter (@catamounts, @CatamountsFB), and Instagram (wcu_catamounts, catamountsfb).

Important Dates in Catamount Athletics & Catamount Football:
Wednesday, Aug. 10 – First scheduled football practice in full pads
Thursday, Aug. 11 – Catamount Women’s Soccer Exhibition – vs. App State (CAC, 7 p.m.)
Saturday, Aug. 13 – Catamount Women’s Soccer Exhibition – vs. Lee’s McRae (CAC, 4pm)
Friday, Aug. 19 – WCU Freshman Convocation (Ramsey Center)
Saturday, Aug. 20Catamount Volleyball Exhibition – vs. Anderson (Ramsey Center, 6 p.m.)
Monday, Aug. 23 – First day of classes for the fall semester – Cullowhee
Thursday, Aug. 25 – Catamount Women’s Soccer – Home Opener vs. Clemson (CAC, 7 p.m.)
Saturday, Sept. 3 – 2022 Catamount Football season opener at Charleston Southern (Noon)
Friday, Sept. 16 – The Bob Waters Memorial – Maggie Valley Club – Maggie Valley, NC
Saturday, Sept. 17 – 2022 Catamount Football home opener, vs. Presbyterian (3:30 p.m.)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.