Kasun and Duvindu the best performers of Major Clubs cricket tourney

The promising batsman Kasun Vidura of Chilaw Marians CC and the talented leg spinner Duvindu Tillekaratne of BRC won the best batsman and best bowler awards at the recently concluded Major Clubs limited over cricket tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket.

Kasun Vidura the most successful left hander of this tournament was in terrific form scoring 631 runs at an average of 63.10 with two centuries and three half centuries and he was able to maintain 81.84 strike rate to get more success in this tournament.Kasun the product from St Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa has been picked for Team Grays at the forthcoming SLC invitational T-20 cricket tournament.

Meanwhile the inform leg spinner Duvindu Tillekaratne who was named best bowler of the recently concluded Mercantile Super league cricket tournament once again won the best bowler award at the Major clubs limited over cricket tournament which ended last Wednesday.

Duvindu the main strike bowler of BRC has taken highest wickets of 36 with best figures of 5 for 26 having bowled 102.4 overs with ten maiden overs given away 344 runs. He has taken a five wicket haul and 4 four wickets hauls during the tournament and has been named for Teams Grays at the Invitational T – 20 tournament and this will be a good opportunity to show his class before the Asia Cup as well as T -20 world cup which will be held from October 13 in Australia.

Ragama CC ‘s all rounder Janith Liyanage who scored 525 runs and took 11 wickets was awarded best player of the tournament. Ragama CC promising wicket keeper Nishan Madushka was the second best scorer having 557 runs with an average of 50.63 and he scored two centuries and three fifties and the highest individual score of 165 against Nugegoda SC in this tournament. The former under 19 skipper Nipun Dhananjaya of SSC scored 533 runs with an average of 66.62 while experienced TM Sampath of BRC (brother of former Sri Lanka skipper TM Dilshan) scored 511 runs with a century and four fifties with an average of 42.58 also showed good form.

Meanwhile Akila Dananjaya the off spinner of Colts CC having 35 wickets, Ashan Priyanjan of CCC having 34 wickets with best figures of 6 for 22, Tamil Union leg spinner Dilum Sudeera with 32 Wickets , Asel Sigera the 23 leggie of NCC having 31 wickets, Army SC leg spinner Suminda Lakshan with 30 wickets and Nimsara Atharsgalla the 23 years old right arm medium paceman of ACC Capital CC the former St Sylvester’s player with 30 really performed well t

Sadeera Samarawickrama was adjudged man of the final in which Tamil Union beat Army SC at the SSC grounds to clinch the championship. Samantha Dodanwela SLC tournament Committee Chairman and Secretary Kasun Fernando were the chief guests and gave away the awards.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.