OU Sets Big 12 Gymnastics Championship Team Scoring Record to Win 2022 Crown

DENVER – Oklahoma celebrated its 13th Big 12 Gymnastics Championship and ninth of the past 10 completed seasons on Saturday night in Magness Arena on the campus of the University of Denver. The Sooners set a Big 12 Championship record with a team score of 198,200. The meet marked the first time an affiliate member has hosted the Championship and the first time the meet has been held on the podium.

The No 1 nationally ranked Sooners were led by event titles in Vault, Bars, Beam and Floor. Denver finished in second place (197,250), while West Virginia secured third for the first time since 2017 (196,650) and Iowa State placed fourth (196,100). Gymnasts in the top three places on each event were named to the All-Big 12 Championship Team (listed below).

Oklahoma’s Olivia Trautman had the highest Big 12 Championship Vault score (9,975) since Oklahoma’s Maggie Nichols’ perfect 10 in 2017 to finish first.

OU’s Ragan Smith and Karrie Thomas shared the event title in Bars along with Denver’s Rylie Mundell (9,950).

On Beam, Oklahoma’s Carly Woodard split first place with Denver’s Momoko Iwai (9,950). Woodard became the third straight Sooner to win the event, while Iwai is the first DU gymnast to finish first since Kaitlyn Schou in 2018.

On Floor, three Sooners finished in first (Danielle Sievers, Ragan Smith, Jordan Bowers) to go along with Iowa State’s Maddie Diab (9.950).

Jessica Hutchinson captured the All-Around event title with her score of 39.625, the third consecutive year a Denver gymnast has finished first in All-Around.

During the awards ceremony, season honors were revealed for Big 12 Gymnast, Event Specialist, Newcomer and Coach of the Year. The awards were voted on prior to the Championship.

Denver’s Jessica Hutchinson was awarded Gymnast of the Year. The sophomore had 14 event wins during the season, including five all-around victories. She won Big 12 Gymnast of the Week three times and becomes the second consecutive and third overall Denver gymnast to be selected as Big 12 Gymnast of the Year, while being the first underclassman to capture the award since Oklahoma’s Maggie Nichols in 2018.

Oklahoma’s Carly Woodard was declared Event Specialist of the Year for her five event wins during the season including a perfect 10 on beam against Denver on January 30. The senior secured three Big 12 Event Specialist honors during the season and ranks ninth in the country on beam . Woodard was All-Big 12 in Beam after finishing ninth in the nation in her National Qualifying Scores. This is the seventh time in the last eight years that an OU gymnast has procured the award.

Freshman Jordan Bowers was named Newcomer of the Year after posting 16 event wins during the regular season that featured her perfect 10 on vault against then No. 1 Michigan. Bowers was All-Big 12 in Vault (1, national rank), Bars (14) and Floor (17). Her seven weekly Big 12 awards during the season tied the all-time mark in a single season, becoming the fourth Big 12 gymnast and first since OU’s Olivia Trautman (2019). This is the fourth time in five years that a Sooner has earned the award.

KJ Kindler from Oklahoma was named the Coach of the Year for the 14th time in her career and 11th occasion while in Norman. She led the Sooners to a No. 1 national ranking entering the Big 12 Championship and has won 12 Big 12 Championships while at the helm in Norman.

Big 12 Championship Team Standings

  1. Oklahoma – 198,200
  2. Denver – 197,250
  3. West Virginia – 196,650
  4. Iowa State – 196,100

All-Big 12 Championship Team
(Top three places, including ties, in each event)
All-Around: Jessica Hutchinson (Denver), 39,625; Rylie Mundell (Denver), 39,500; Rachel Hornung (West Virginia), 39,175
Vault: Olivia Trautman (Oklahoma), 9,975; Makayla Maxwell (Iowa State) 9.950; Sophia Steinmeyer (Iowa State), 9.90; Danae Fletcher (Oklahoma), 9,900; Katherine LeVasseur (Oklahoma), 9,900
Uneven Bars: Rylie Mundell (Denver), 9,950; Ragan Smith (Oklahoma), 9,950; Karrie Thomas (Oklahoma), 9,950
Balance Beam: Momoko Iwai (Denver), 9,950; Carly Woodard (Oklahoma), 9,950; Jessica Hutchinson (Denver), 9,925
Floor Exercise: Maddie Diab (Iowa State), 9.950; Jordan Bowers (Oklahoma), 9,950; Ragan Smith (Oklahoma), 9,950; Danielle Sievers (Oklahoma), 9,950

2022 Big 12 Gymnastics of the Year Awards
Gymnast of the Year: Jessica Hutchinson (Denver)
Event Specialist of the Year: Carly Woodard (Oklahoma)
Newcomer of the Year: Jordan Bowers (Oklahoma)
Coach of the Year: KJ Kindler (Oklahoma)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.