Stock Car Racing: Vanlaningham takes third leg of MidSummer Hobby Stock Tour – Brainerd Dispatch

BARROWS — The third time was a charm for Hobby Stock driver Jesse Vanlaningham.

Vanlaningham made the drive from Beatrice, Nebraska to Kossuth County Speedway to compete in the first night of the MidSummer Hobby Stock Tour.

The Tour started in Algona, Iowa on Thursday, moved to Princeton Friday before making the third stop at North Central Speedway Saturday, July 30. The series would culminate Sunday with the final race at Buffalo River Speedway.

Vanlaningham finished a disappointing 22nd on Thursday in Iowa. At Princeton Friday, he had a great view of a thrilling finish between Dylan Nelson and Scott Herron with Nelson winning by just 0.017 seconds, with Vanlaningham grabbing the third spot.

But the feature draw Saturday was kind to Vanlaningham after a win in the heat race. He earned a first row start alongside Chase Peterson in the 20-lap feature race with 22 cars making the field. Vanlaningham never gave up the top spot and took the checkered flag and the $1,000. Tim Otterness took second place and Tom Anderson finished in third.

After three nights, Scott Herron, who took the fourth spot at NCS, leads by three points over Jed Trebelhorn and four points over Vanlanningham. The winner of the points for the four nights walks away with another $1,000. NCS points leader Brandon Bombardo took the night off but held a 36 point lead for the points championship.

It has been a perfect July for Northern SportMod driver Jake Hagemann. He swept the month of July winning all three of the July races. He held off points leader David Siercks to take first place in the 15-lap feature event with Craig Paul taking the third spot. Sierck leads Paul by 14 points with four races left in the season.

The 2022 season has been close to perfect for Aaron Johnson. The Modified driver won his eighth race of the season with Shawn Fletcher finishing in second place. Johnson had trailed Fletcher in the points race all season but with the win the two are now tied.

Troy Jordan pushed Kris Peterson as hard as he could but in the end it was Peterson coming across the finishing line with his second Stock Car win of the year. Dave Johnson took third place and now trails points leader Tim Gonska by just six points.

Chad Funt claimed his first win of the season for the Mod Four’s and Skyler Smith took the second spot. He trails points leader Gerrald Nohner by 17 points.

Sport Compact driver Nathan Kohl has been dominant with six wins. He had won No. 7 in his sights with just two laps left, but Brandon Nyberg wouldn’t go away and Nyberg overtook Kohl with two laps to go and won a thrilling 15-lap feature race. With the win Nyberg trails Kohl by 19 points for the points championship.

IMCA Expert Insulation Modifieds

Feature: 1-Aaron Johnson, 2-Shawn Fletcher, 3-Luke Hines

Heat 1: 1-Aaron Johnson, 2-Seth Kramer, 3-AJ Viehauser

Heat 2: 1-Shawn Fletcher, 2-Luke Hines, 3-Scott Engholm

Feature: 1-Kris Peterson, 2-Troy Jordan, 3-Dave Johnson

Heat 1: 1-Kris Peterson, 2-Tim Gonska, 3-Dave Johnson

Feature: 1-Jake Hagemann, 2-David Siercks, 3-Craig Paul

Heat 1: 1-Jeff Innes, 2-David Siercks, 3-Michael Nelson

Heat 2: 1-Mark Martini, 2-Jake Hagemann, 3-Luke Ryan

Feature: 1-Chad Funt, 2-Skyler Smith, 3-Josh Litzau

Heat 1: 1-Nick McCann, 2-Skyler Smith, 3-Gerrald Nohner

Heat 2: 1-Chad Funt, 2-Bill Jones, 3-Andy Funt

Feature: 1-Jesse Vanlaningham, 2-Tim Otterness, 3-Tom Anderson

Heat 1: 1-Jesse Vanlaningham, 2-Chase Peterson, 3-Nate Hanson

Heat 2: 1-Tom Anderson, 2-Tyler Kunz, 3-Dylan Nelson

Heat 3: 1-Ryan Klenschmidt, 2-Tim Otterness, 3-Scott Herron

Feature: 1-Brandon Nyberg, 2-Nathan Kohl, 3-Korbin Sarazin

Heat 1: 1-Nathan Kohl, 2-Brandon Nyberg, 3-Andrew Malinowski

Heat 2: 1-Korbin Sarazin, 2-Brent Kugel, 3-Beau Fries

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.