Players to watch, class outlooks

Mya Allen: Reagan, OH/MB, soph.

Mia Alvarado: Stevens, L, Sr.

Kamryn Clay: Clemens, S, jr.

Carly Chavez: O’Connor, L, Sr.

Juliana Corona: Roosevelt, MB, Sr.

Lola Davila: Brandeis, L, jr.

Averie Dembickie: Churchill, MB/RS, Sr.

Kelly Fording: O’Connor, OH, sr.

Jenna Garza: O’Connor, S, Sr.

Emma Halstead: Brandeis, OH, Sr.

Katie Hill: Reagan, MB/RS, Sr.

Jayden Jones: Madison, OH, Sr.

Anna Kasper: Jay, RS, Jr.

McKynna Moxley: East Central, S, sr.

Grace Owens: Warren, OH, Jr.

Gabriella Reeves: Reagan, S, jr.

Austin Smoak: Brandeis, MB, jr.

Kitana Tuufuli: Steele, OH, Sr.

Kaitlyn Whitlock: Clark, OH, Sr.

Outlook: Defending state champion Brandeis and Reagan are the teams to beat in District 28-6A.

Senior outside hitter Emma Halstead, an Express-News Super Team selection last year, leads the Broncos after the graduations of 2021 Player of the Year Jalyn Gibson and Player of the Year finalist Carlee Pharris, who are now both at TCU.

Reagan returns most of a youthful team won 38 matches last year. Senior Katie Hill offers strong leadership for a talented team that gained valuable experience last year.

O’Connor has experience and depth and is the team to beat in District 29-6A. The Panthers have won the past two district titles with 16-0 marks. The Panthers return six starters, including senior setter Jenna Garza, and nine letterwinners.

Last year’s District 27-6A champion, Smithson Valley, is now in 5A, as is Wagner. Six teams remain, and the championship race is wide open. Clemens has six returning starters and Steele has five. They are the early championship contenders.

Class 5A

Adrianna Alvarado: Highlands, S, sr.

Addison Bartlett: Southwest, MB/OH, soph.

Kaylee Duque: Burbank, L, jr.

Brittan Fedyk: Smithson Valley, L, jr.

Megan Hawkins: New Braunfels Canyon, S, jr.

Haylee Hurtado: Medina Valley, MB/OH, sr.

Lily Johnson: Smithson Valley, MB, Sr.

Maya Jones: New Braunfels Canyon, RS, sr.

Taylor Kubacak: Kerrville Tivy, S/OH, jr.

Kaylen Lembcke: MacArthur, MB/RS, Jr.

Madison Milligan: Southwest, MB, sr.

Angelina Munoz: South San, S/RS, jr.

Courtney Pope: New Braunfels Canyon, MB/OH, sr.

Cayla Reyes: Harlandale, S/OH, jr.

Chanisty Villarreal-Bermea: Harlandale, OH, Jr.

Emma Wegeitner: Boerne Champion, OH, sr.

Hannah Whittingstall: Alamo Heights, MB, Sr.

Outlook: Smithson Valley won last year’s District 27-6A title with a 14-0 record. The Rangers are now in 5A and in a district that includes New Braunfels Canyon, a state semifinalist in 2021. Look for the Comal ISD rivals to battle for the 26-5A crown and — with Dripping Springs moving to 6A — Region IV-5A supremacy .

Alamo Heights has five returning starters and should dominate District 27-5A.

Sub-Class 4A

Tori Adams: Boerne, OH, Sr.

Jourdan Cathro: Cole, OH, Sr.

Avery Cruz: Devine, L, Sr.

Talan Dodson: Davenport, OH, Jr.

Rylee Esquibel: Devine, OH/S, jr.

Taryn Garcia: Poteet, OH, Jr.

Madison Godina: Memorial, L, jr.

Melina Gonzalez: Poth, DS, sr.

Molly Hamilton: Comfort, S, sr.

Ava Harris: La Vernia, OH, Sr.

Madisyn Jones: Fredericksburg, S, sr.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *