India Squad For Asia Cup 2022 Announced; KL Rahul Returns As The Vice-Captain

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India’s Squad for the Asia Cup 2022 on Monday. Rohit Sharma will be leading team India in the mega event which is all set to commence in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on August 27 this year. The final of Asian Cup 2022 will be played in Dubai on September 11.

India’s campaign in this year’s tournament will kick off with a heavyweight clash against arch-rivals Pakistan on August 28. The Men in Blue would like to avenge the defeat in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 and stamp their authority in regards to the preparation of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 which will be played later this year in Australia.

India National Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)]

India Squad For Asia Cup 2022 Announced By The BCCI

The BCCI, on Monday, announced India’s squad for this year’s Asia Cup. Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the squad due to a back injury. KL Rahul will be the vice-captain of the Indian cricket team in the Asia Cup 2022. Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik are the two wicketkeepers on the side.

Babar Azam, Rohit Sharma
Babar Azam, Rohit Sharma. Image Credits: Twitter

India’s Squad for Asia Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(Wk), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (Wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar , Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Backup: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.

Team India To Begin Campaign On August 28

The Men in Blue will begin its Asia Cup campaign with the high-octane clash against Pakistan. They will next play the Qualifying team on August 31. The 5 teams that have been finalized for the tournament are India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan. The 6th team will be decided through a qualifier. Kuwait, UAE, Hong Kong, and Singapore will be playing in the qualifier.

India Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team. Image: BCCI/Twitter

The Super4 stage of the tournament will commence from September 3 and the final will be played on September 11 in Dubai. The Asia Cup this year is being played in the 20-over format and two venues, Dubai and Sharjah have been finalized for conducting the tournament. The Men in Blue have won the most titles (7) in tournament history. Sri Lanka is the 2nd most successful team in the competition history with only 5 titles.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *