Arena Kings: All The Information


Arena Kings is a weekly event where streamers play in blitz arenas for their share of 400 Twitch subs. Arena’s run every Wednesday starting at 9:00am PT/6:00pm CEST and lasting two hours. While only Twitch streamers can win prizes, every Chess.com member can play in the event.


Format

Arena Kings runs weekly 2-hour arenas every Wednesday. While any Chess.com member can play in the arenas, only Twitch streamers can compete for prizes. Most weeks feature 3+0 blitz arenas, with occasional format changes (bullet, Chess960, etc.). Standard Chess.com arena rules and tiebreakers apply.

Prizes

The weekly prize for Arena Kings is 400 Twitch subs. The sub distribution is as follows:

  • 1st: 75 subs
  • 2nd: 50 subs
  • 3rd: 40 subs
  • 4th: 30 subs
  • 5th: 20 subs
  • 6th-10th: 15 subs
  • 11th-15th: 10 subs
  • U1400, U1600, U1800, U2000, U2200: 10 subs
  • Staff Choice Award: 10 subs

Twitch subs will be paid out in the hour before and during the following week’s arena. We encourage prize winners to be live starting at 8 am PT/17:00 CEST to share your winnings with your community.

Schedule

Arena Kings runs every Wednesday, starting at 9 am PT/18:00 CEST and ending at 11 am PT/20:00 CEST.

Streaming And Identification Requirements

Arena Kings is open to all Chess.com members. Participants must stream their participation on Twitch and meet all the requirements below to be eligible for prizes:

  • The player must stream their games with boards and camera visible on stream, and their video and audio must be clear.
  • Verbal commentary and/or chat engagement are required. We are specifically discouraging players from streaming simply to be eligible for prizes while not providing any streaming “value.”
  • Anonymous players cannot earn prizes. All accounts must be labeled with the player’s real name.
  • All players must play using accounts that properly reflect their playing strength as measured by rating.
  • All forms of rating manipulation are against site rules.
  • “Streaming” accounts must be approved by staff. Note that multi-accounting is against our terms of service so if an account is not approved by our staff, this can constitute grounds for us to close the account and void any results or prizes earned.
  • The player must stream at least 100 minutes of the event.
  • No more than three short draws are permitted per arena, particularly at the end of the arenas. We expect players to play normally at all times.
  • Streamer must be at least a Twitch Affiliate to be eligible for prizes.
  • Players must be easily identifiable on Twitch by listing their streams in the “Chess” category.
  • All streams must have “!arenakings” in the stream title.
  • The streamer must save their VODs for a minimum of 14 days so staff can review them after the arena.
  • The streamer must connect their Twitch account to Chess.com.

Please note that YouTube streamers are not eligible to win prizes since YouTube does not have a “sub” function. YouTube streamers will be eligible to win prizes once YouTube’s sub feature comes out of beta.

How To Participate

Head to our Tournaments tab on our Play page to participate in any of the arenas. Note that you can only join an arena one hour within its starting time.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.